Publishing On LinkedIn

This is not my article but believe if you missed it in the newsfeed – it is definitely worth the time to read!

A few quick takeaways but I suggest you read in its entirety at the link below:

[Exerpted from Glenn Leibowitz]

A few of the lessons learned from publishing more than 100 posts on LinkedIn:

1. Write about what you know best.

One of the biggest challenges I faced when I started to write on LinkedIn was this: What would I write about? So I decided to start with what I knew best: Writing and editing. But while I’ve continued to write more posts on those topics, I’ve also written about many other topics, like personal and professional development, parenting, technology, social media, and marketing. All of which are topics that interest me and that I’m familiar with.

2. Write about what you’re most passionate about.

Beyond just writing posts on topics that fall into your area of expertise, write about topics you’re passionate about. Write about ideas that inspire you, or even about the issues and events in the world that make you angry. Then share what you think. Take a stand.

Some of my most popular posts on LinkedIn have been on topics I felt strongly about. Topics I felt compelled to share my perspective on. When I’m passionate about a topic, the thoughts flow more quickly from my mind to my fingers.

3. Write about trending topics.

While “evergreen” topics work well on LinkedIn, you’ll notice some of the most popular pieces that are promoted by the LinkedIn editors–and the ones that take off and quickly go viral–are the ones that address a trending topic in the news. LinkedIn’s growing team of global editors are on the look-out for such posts, and are more likely to promote them under one or several of the LinkedIn Pulse channels.

4. Become an idea machine.

Writing consistently means you need to have a reservoir of topics you can choose from when you sit down to write. Fearful of forgetting good ideas, I make sure I document them as soon as possible. When an idea comes to mind, I immediately write a headline and maybe a sentence or two about what the post is about using Evernote, the note-taking app. Sometimes, I’ll jot down an outline with a few sub-headlines and fill in the body of the post when I have more time. If I’m feeling particularly inspired, I’ll try to write a rough first draft.

5. Provide information and insights that help your readers.

While no two people among LinkedIn’s more than 440 million members share exactly the same backgrounds or interests, I’ve noticed there are patterns to what they are looking for from the posts they read.

LinkedIn’s readers are looking for information and insights that will help them achieve their personal and professional goals. Information that will help them become better at their jobs, tools that will help them identify and build upon their strengths, and actionable advice that will position them for new career opportunities.

By addressing these needs in your posts, readers are more likely to hit the “Like” button or share them with their network.

6. Share something about yourself.

Yes, readers on LinkedIn want practical, actionable advice that will help them do better at work or live a happier life. But I’ve found that they are looking for something more than that, something less tangible than just tips and strategies that will help them get ahead. They want to connect with people and build relationships. Many readers are also curious about the person behind the post. They want to see if they can relate to the writer in some way.

[Read the full article]

Carla Deter is the founder of LinkedIn Profile Service Professional and Socially Your Virtual Assistant/Consultant, located in the Washington, DC area. Her ‘solutions, not services’ include supporting small business owners, entrepreneurs, associations, attorneys, realtors, busy executives with resume and LinkedIn profile writing and event promotions. She is a contributing writer for The Huffington Post. Carla can be found on LinkedIn and Twitter: @fxvacarlad

Would you like to comment about my blog. Please leave any good news or constructive criticism; however, be nice!

